Follow

User Permissions: What Do They Allow me to Do or See?

Admin users in CoConstruct can control and limit other builder users' ability to access and view Projects, Update Schedules, Update Templates, View Financials, Edit Budgets, View Contacts, or Add/Edit Contacts. To guide you in deciding which settings are right for which users, the following table displays the Account Settings and Permissions that allow ("✓") or dis-allow ("X") all functions in those areas of the system.

 

USER PERMISSIONS MATRIX (Builder Side Account Settings)
✓ = Permission
X = No Permission 
Account Settings  Admin User* Non-Admin User Notes
My Team tab X * Admin users have access to ALL tabs, and have ALL Permissions
Edit warranty sublists  
Edit file/photo labels  
Edit job log settings X  
Edit contact and project group customizations X  
Edit accounting settings X Includes setting up integration with QuickBooks or Xero.
Accounting codes X Accounting code setup and editing must be done by an admin user, but non-admin users with budget permissions can still use these codes on projects after they are set up.
Other settings  
Project Access All Access No Access / Limited Access  Notes
Add a new project User with limited project access can create a new project, and automatically has access to that project.
Give a partner access This can only be done from the new project page, project setup page, and the buttons at the top of the Partner List. It cannot be done by editing the partner if the user does not have access to all projects.
(only projects with access)
Edit project setup (only projects with access)
Add clients (only projects with access)
Download project data X User with access to a project needs financial access to download data
Control client access to view the budget Admin users can grant the client permission to view the budget.
Non-Admin users can disable this permission for projects that they can access, but cannot re-enable it.
Set the option to enable estimates and job costing (new projects only) Only admin users can change this setting once the job is created.
All projects visible on the Main Menu X User with limited project access can only see permitted projects.
Instant alerts, notifications, and project summaries (only projects with access) 
Add/remove trade partners (only projects with access) 
Assign/remove trade partners from a project (only projects with access, from project access) 
Edit trade partner details X Users need "all" project access to edit trade partners. 
Update Schedules  Permission No Permission  Notes
Update the Published Schedule X  
Clear updates on the published schedule User without update schedules permission may clear schedule update buttons. Requires project access.
(if assigned to clear updates)
View/add comments  
View files attached to schedule tasks  
Task notifications (view notification history, send individual task assignments)
Create/Edit a Draft Schedule X (add/remove/move milestones & tasks; edit tasks, predecessors, assign Trade Partners, create/edit notes, upload files, set project start date, copy template)
Save and publish the draft schedule X  
Update Templates Permission No Permission  Notes
Specs/Selections Templates      
View items, item description, choice description, and files  
View price, edit or delete items X User with financial access but no update template permission: can see  prices, but is not able to edit/delete.
View price, edit or delete items X User with template permission but no View Financials permission: cannot update Spec/Selection template
Schedule Templates      
View/edit schedule templates X  
View Financials Permission No Permission  Notes
Spec/Selection Template      
Edit specs/selections templates X User with template permission but no View Financials permission: cannot update template
Project Specs/Selections      
View item descriptions  
View choice descriptions  
View/add comments  
View attached Files  
Expand, collapse, filter, group  
Clear updates (if assigned to clear updates)
View selection prices or budget information X  
View selection allowances X  
Make or change selection choices X  
Update selection statuses X (Lock, Unlock)
Update specs/selections X  
View the change logs X  
Financials Summary / Change Orders      
View category, spec/selection, choice, and statuses of change orders  
Expand and collapse all entries  
View the base price and total price X  
Create change orders X (must also have "Edit Financials" permission)
View price, allowance, and difference amounts X  
View change order "other actions" (void, mark as billed, etc.) X (must also have "Edit Financials" permission)
See attached files on change orders X  
Clear updates (if assigned to clear updates) 
View locked and unlocked selections  
View the financial summary X  
View the payment summary X  
View declined / voided change order reasons  
View declined / voided change order details X  
View bid details X  
View purchase order details X  
View invoice details X  
Edit Financials Permission No Permission  Notes
Specs/Selections Template      
View locked and unlocked selections (only with View Financials permission)
Edit accounting codes & budget amounts X (only with View Financials AND Update Templates permission)
Project Specs/Selections      
View accounting codes & budget amounts (only with View Financials permission)
Edit accounting codes & budget amounts X  
Viewing the financials summary (only with View Financials permission)
Editing the budget tab  X  
Create or edit bid request information X  
Create or edit purchase order information X  
Financials Summary / Change Orders      
Create change orders or edit draft change orders X  
View change order "other actions" (void, mark as billed, etc.) X  
Create invoices X  
Preview Client Side Permission No Permission Notes
View the client side of any project page  X Non-archived projects only, and excludes no-client projects. This permission requires View Financials permissions.
View Contacts and Leads Permission No Permission Notes
View the Contacts section X  
View the Leads section X  
Add or import contacts or leads X X  
Search for or view individual contacts X  
Edit individual contacts X X  
View opportunities & contact activities X  
Edit opportunities & contact activities X X This includes the ability of the user to be assigned to contact activities, mark activities as complete, and add notes to activities.
Add / Edit Contacts and Leads Permission No Permission Notes
View the Contacts section X Users can still do this with the "View Contacts and Leads" permission and no "Add/Edit Contacts and Leads" permission.
View the Leads section X Users can still do this with the "View Contacts and Leads" permission and no "Add/Edit Contacts and Leads" permission.
Add or import contacts or leads X  
Search for or view individual contacts X Users can still do this with the "View Contacts" permission and no "Add/Edit Contacts" permission.
Edit individual contacts X  
View opportunities & contact activities X Users can still do this with the "View Contacts" permission and no "Add/Edit Contacts" permission.
Edit opportunities & contact activities X This includes the ability of the user to be assigned to contact activities, mark activities as complete, and add notes to activities.
Delete contacts X X This can only be done by admin users.
Delete leads or opportunities X X This can only be done by admin users.
Manage Time Clock Permission No Permission Notes
Clock yourself in or out  
Clock any employee out X  
View, edit, or manually add time for yourself  
View, edit, or manually add time for any employee X Users are still limited to only viewing time entries on projects to which they have access.
Approve time X  
Void time X  
Export time to Excel X This includes the ability of the user to be assigned to contact activities, mark activities as complete, and add notes to activities.
Customize the activities and types X X This can only be done by admin users.

 

Was this article helpful?
19 out of 19 found this helpful
Have more questions? Submit a request